That time Greg Lake told me that what attracted diehard Emerson, Lake & Palmer fans to the band was “music”

earofnewt.com

photo-jpg-4

By Steve Newton

As you may have already heard, Greg Lake–one-third of the legendary seventies prog-rock band Emerson, Lake & Palmer–died of cancer yesterday at the age of 69.

I was a big ELP fan back in the day. Actually, I was mostly a big Brain Salad Surgery fan back in the day, that day being 1973. I didn’t own a lot of other ELP albums, mainly because I was too busy buying albums with electric guitars on them. ELP wasn’t a guitar band. Lake was the singer-bassist and producer, joined by drummer Carl Palmer and keyboardist Keith Emerson, who passed away last year at 71.

Even without the cranked six-string action I craved–and found on other ’73 discs like Montrose, Tyranny and Mutation, and Tres Hombres–I found a lot to like in the British trio’s classical stylings and advanced musicianship. And I’m pretty sure the…

View original post 94 more words

I think your thoughts are worth way more than a nickel? It seems a bit pricey for mine. Good thing they are free!

