Guest Post Kevin Morris Author of “Dalliance; A Collection of Poetry and Prose”

I developed my love of literature as a small boy. I’ve happy memories of sitting on my grandfather’s knee as he regailed me with Enid Blyton’s “The Famous Five” and “Grimm’s Fairy Tales”. Being blind it was a real treat to have print books read aloud as I was unable to read the printed word. Later I learned to read braille and devoured the books in my school and (later) college library. I can still recollect sitting engrossed with a battered braille edition of “Palgrave’s Golden Treasury” on my knee. One of the advantages of being blind is the ability to read in the dark and I well recollect reading after the lights had been turned out at my boarding school when I should have been in the land of nod!
Today I do most of my reading on my Amazon Kindle which is equipped with a text to speech facility enabling visually impaired people to access the printed word. I still own and read braille. However braille is very bulky and only a tiny proportion of the books produced in print are ever transcribed into braille, hence my preference for my Kindle or audio books.
Many thanks Sherry for inviting me to guest post I really appreciate her kindness in allowing me to do so.
My love of literature has led me to publish 7 collections of short stories and, most recently a book of poetry and prose, “Dalliance; A Collection of Poetry and Prose”.

Below are a few examples of the poems to be found in “Dalliance”.
Mirror
“The mirror sees it all:
The writing’s on the wall.
To the girl he calls.
She turns to him and falls.
Gazing in the glass,
She sees the truth at last.
Hides it with a laugh.
Would that she could break the glass”.
Fire
“I have felt the fire’s power;
It kindles brightly and sinks within the hour.
I have watched the embers dying fast;
Looked into the future and gazed into the past.
I have raked the ashes cold, felt the bleakness in my soul”.
Was It Love?
“Were they one of a kind?
Did they in romance combine?
Did they dance through the night by the moonlight?
Did the stars up above shine down on their love?
Was it joy they did find?
Who knows. She left her shoes behind”.

Links (for the UK)

Dalliance; A Collection of Poetry and Prose

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Dalliance-collection-poetry-prose-Morris-ebook/dp/B00QQVJC7E/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

My Amazon author page http://www.amazon.co.uk/K.-Morris/e/B00CEECWHY/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1  (for the UK)

For the USA.

http://www.amazon.com/Dalliance-collection-poetry-prose-Morris-ebook/dp/B00QQVJC7E/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

My Amazon author page  http://www.amazon.com/K.-Morris/e/B00CEECWHY/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1

9 Comments

Leave a Comment

I think your thoughts are worth way more than a nickel? It seems a bit pricey for mine. Good thing they are free!

