Happy Birthday #AxlRose. A Beautiful Boy, Once and Always. Here is why #Gn’R 12/19/ 87

When I spent the night with Axl  I couldn’t  have cared  less about Rock and Roll. I didn’t even listen to the radio anymore so I had no clue who he or his band was. I was too busy. i was just married,had a 14 month old, my business to run, a day care center with 12 kids in a huge house, on two acres way out in the country. and I didn’t know it yet but I was 11 weeks pregnant .But Aerosmith was coming to town and I had felt trapped and overworked and wanted to see all my old friends in the band and crew, party hard, have some fun!

So my best friend and I headed out to the gig about 7pm. No need to arrive early. We knew everybody. There was no doubt we would breeze backstage.  I neither knew nor cared who the warm- band was.  I know, I KNOW!  Don’t just sit there with your mouth hanging open like you are trying to catch flies.  Looking back now it’s completely ridiculous!  That anyone on the planet had never heard of Guns N Roses Or Axl Rose then. But I didn’t have time for music. Well, truthfully I had chosen to ignore it since I got married. I didn’t want reminders of the  men who made music and the fun I was missing out on since I became  a responsible, respectable woman. So I paid no attention to rock and roll at all. But missing  Aerosmith was not an option, We went so far back with them it wasn’t hard for her to persuade me to go to the show with her. But, oh boy did I regret it! At first.

When we got there we realized the entire  hard rocking, wild partying  Aerosmith crew we knew and loved  were replaced and the band were straight out of rehab.  So there we stood,  in the freezing cold outside the backstage door. Or at least I did.  My ” best friend” grabbed a union guy who liked her blonde hair and  long legs and said he would walk her in so she threw me her car keys and  backpack with a change of clothes (a concert essential for the” walk of shame”home on the morning after ) and as always, without saying,  since we first met in 77 the plan was to be she would return in minutes with passes for both of us. Not a difficult job at all once you made it past the goon blocking the back door. But yet there I stood… and I stood… and I stood there, in the  dark winter night holding all her heavy crap until the  show was over . Without her even coming out even once to check on me or  keep me updated, much less desperately trying trying to get me in.

Had I been a lessor person I would have dumped her car keys down the nearest storm drain after the first two  hours, left her backpack outside the backstage door and headed for home.  Believe me, I considered it. But we had been through so much together over the years I just couldn’t bring myself to do it . So I was still standing there like an idiot five hours later when she finally emerged after the gig  had ended and the dressing rooms were empty of  bands and fans. I was furious as you can imagine. But hey, things happen right?  I was just happy the ordeal was over. So we  headed for the hotel for the ” great party she was taking me to make up for it.”  When we got there I told her “I’m not going anywhere until I get a drink.” I was shaking like a leaf I was still so mad and frozen.   I told her to wait in the lobby , I was just  running into the bar to get a cocktail and would be right back. When I emerged, about three mins later, she had vanished. I presume with whoever promised  her they had some drugs in their room. That was really all she cared about then. Clearly,judging from tonight , our friendship was last on her list of priorities  now.

As the crew and band started to straggle in , it was all Gn’RS guys. Aerosmith refused to stay in the same hotel with them the entire tour so the wouldn’t succumb to temptation . I asked, in fact practically begged  everyone that came in to help me find her, see what room she was in for me so I knew was going on. She was my only way home!  All I got was the brush off .  After the night I had so far I was becoming increasingly more hysterical! How dare she! Not only leave me out of the gig but prevent me from joining in on any fun afterwards either! None of the guys coming in had any interest in helping me. if one of their buddies had a long-legged blonde and a bunch of blow in his bedroom , the last thing they were going to do was ruin his fun.  I was practically in tears by 2 am when a stunningly  beautiful boy with long  copper hair  came in the hotel front door and immediately asked me if I was okay? I said, between sniffles on the verge of becoming sobs “No I certainly am not and explained the story. He listened patiently and then when i had finished he gave me a hug,  put me in a comfy lobby chair and snapped his fingers.

1779792_709804965719797_1337011051_n

Everyone in the place leaped to attention. He started issuing orders. “YOU… get her another drink, and keep them coming, Charge them to my room. All the rest of you… get on the phone and call every room until you find this bitch. Knock on every door if you have to”  I was  overcome by his kindness after everything I had been through so far and the way I was treated, not just the crew, but my “Best friend in the world.” Once everybody within a mile was following his orders as fast as their asses could  I got out of the chair   and went over to give him a big hug of gratitude. ” Thank you so much. You are the only person who has been a decent human being to me all night. I’m sorry but I didn’t catch your name?” He looked at me as if I had just landed from Mars because the rest of the world knew exactly who he was at a moments glance. He was well on he way to becoming a rock God/Legend. But I hadn’t a clue who he was. Remember I never read the rock news or bought albums or played the radio and I hadn’t not seen the gig that night so I hadn’t seen him sing or had even heard of him or his band . He was dumbstruck. He just said barely managed to say ” I’m Axl”  And then he went  back  to organizing and supervising the Bitchhunt. They never could find her, which i think bothered him more than it did me, because he wasn’t used to not getting whatever he wanted  I was just happy  now that at last someone cared at all  about me.  Eventually everyone wandered off to the party , which I clearly was not invited to, or their respective rooms  so I resigned myself to spending the night and maybe most of the day tomorrow sitting alone in the lobby crying and really regretting I hadn’t tossed her car keys in the sewer and  caught public transport home when I had the chance. And still not knowing I was almost three months pregnant with baby two in one year  I’m sure  that didn’t help the situation or my state of mind much.

Although Axl never said another word to me when everyone else was gone he was still there.  He took a seat at a huge grand piano 20 feet from me. that was placed in the lobby just  for show and began to play beautiful classical piano  and he stayed there until morning. He played from 3 am until 7 am when the hotel restaurant opened for breakfast and  when I had somewhere to go and something to do and public transport had opened again. I don’t think he really knew what to say to me.  So he just kept me company all night there in the empty lobby. Neither of us acknowledging each others presence or saying a word. He was so  incredibly passionate about  and completely absorbed in what he was doing I would never have dreamed of interrupting him. As he performed a private  concert for an audience of one. So i would not have to sit there alone all night. Perhaps it was for him too, Because he humbled instead of idolized, For a change

He  certainly wasn’t going to  say WTF?HOW DO YOU NOT KNOW WHO I AM? and explain it to me. because that what an arrogant asshole would do. And what he did for me no arrogant asshole would have considered.  I didn’t know why he was doing it and I certainly was not going to disturb him to ask. I guess what he did  that night was more important to him than the girls ,drugs and parties waiting upstairs.

Happy birthday Axl. No matter how you look, or what they say about you, I know how kind and beautiful you really are. With Love, The Sherry Fairy

58177_705620879471539_1943399680_n

I think your thoughts are worth way more than a nickel? It seems a bit pricey for mine. Good thing they are free!

