Just Jimi with his guitar

 

306214_271669042913462_128243877255980_667287_1478090350_n

 

 

166826xr05yg61gu

 

 

 

 

 

 
1983 A Merman I Should Turn to Be

The first time I heard this song it was the incredibly complex studio version and for the first time I  felt touched by the hand of God. Which was astounding because I never really believed in one, up there riding a cloud. And I still don’t.

But this came from another place than here, somewhere in the universe I had never expected or imagined. It was the simplest explanation for something incredibly complex and so far out of the realm of anything I knew or thought before.

This was Angels singing, Galaxies humming in accompaniment , the Sound of Light and Heat, Air and Water, Pure Energy  disguised as sound and  the Music of All Matter within itself , because every molecule of my being immediately recognized it.

And no i am not insane. Although i guess if i was i would be the last to know wouldn’t i? lol I was never even a Hendrix fan much less fanatic before that night.If I heard you saying this about a perfectly ordinary vinyl record I would be certain you were mad , duped or deluded.  So i couldn’t really blame you if you consider me to be. Its cool. I know it sounds crazy as hell. But i don’t care.

But no mere mortal, no recognizable or familiar  aspect or association could explain, expel, understand  or excuse it, dismiss or dispel it once I heard it for the first time and it became a part of my mind and body. It was nothing I was prepared for or ever could have predicted. That a song, recorded on a record,  written by a man could be something so  beautiful, something that affected me in such a profound and overwhelming fashion. But it’s just a record, right? made by some guy? So …

Why did it have such a mental , emotional and physical effect on me? From the first notes I begin to breathe like I never have before, listen like I never had before, feel things I ever felt. With every word, every note , I waited in breathless anticipation, and even though I know what is to come each time I once again  am in awe of how much better it was than I had been ready for it to be, even though I was ready for the universe unveiling itself in all its glory. As always

Better than I ever dreamt or imagined  it was going to be. As I waited, in a state of bliss for every chord, every word, every note,  unable to do anything else but.

Every time since then I have heard it there is a physiological effect on me like nothing else in the world I have ever experienced or I believe ever will.  My soul swells, my nervous system calms and yet responds, I don’t know whether to laugh or weep or pray. It was a phenomenon, no doubt about it.  How does one try to describe the  intangible?

Even though it has happened every other time before, this  immediate complete  physical and emotional psychological , biological reaction. this state of bliss from the very first notes I am always surprised. No, shocked , when it occurs.

Maybe im always thinking someday it wont happen anymore, even though it has never failed to . Or that i had imagined it somehow, all the times before.

there’s that one incredulous moment as it immediately puts me into a different state of consciousness, and then the overpowering joy of the altered state of consciousness so familiar and  yet so unfathomable, miraculously on  command.

All i did was click a link.  and this was mine. WOW

Many years later I found this first version.  No fancy studio tricks,  no  production, no overdubs , no track upon track upon track , no other instruments or artists combining to create a lush under water other worldly place that had absorbed and amazed me. Its just Jimi. Alone. With his guitar. Not playing for anyone but himself . So quiet and intimate you can hear him turn the page of the sheet music halfway through as if you were in the room as it happened. ( Jimi used sheet music? who knew? lol)

Singing for no one but himself, but so incredibly beautifully yet without him even realizing, or intending it. Not performing. Just being Jimi.

You hear the term “Guitar God” so often over the years, as if they were streaming through every generation like downtown busses arriving on schedule, they are here, there and everywhere, these “Guitar Gods”

I’ve seen most of them. And they were all excellent musicians. But no one else but Jimi has made me believe I might be hearing an angels song . So to me there has only ever been one, and that is the way it will stay.

Here are both versions for you.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment

I think your thoughts are worth way more than a nickel? It seems a bit pricey for mine. Good thing they are free!

